Ask, believe, and be ready to receive!

sucsass.gif

I can’t tell you how many times I prayed for another degree, an amazing job, or a great boyfriend (and future husband). We’re human and we’re always looking for (or in most cases, simply asking for) bigger and better. But what if that amazing job is in another state? What if your future husband is on the other side of the country? What if your big break is overseas? Are you ready to travel to wherever your calling might be? How confident are you that everything happens for a reason and that there are no mistakes in life? Because, the size of that faith will determine the size of your reward.

I job searched for months before I accepted my current position. I put in countless applications in several different states, and nothing worked out. I couldn’t pinpoint if the reason was a lack of work experience or just fate. I wasn’t discouraged, just confused. So, I kept applying…and things never went the way I expected. Then finally, I received an email invitation for a Skype interview. Score!! I prepared accordingly, and my early morning (7:30 a.m.) Skype interview ended up going exceptionally well! So well that later on that afternoon, I was invited to fly in for an on-campus interview later that month. As I’ve heard both Maya Angelou and Nikki Giovanni advise, I starting by simply saying, “yes!” Even during the time that I was waiting for my interview day to arrive, I continued applying for other jobs. Not because I didn’t want this particular job, but because I was afraid that it was “too far away” and that “I couldn’t handle” being away from my loved ones. Every week I checked the status of those other applications, only to find that none of them seemed very promising. But, I wasn’t discouraged– still just confused.

Interview day arrived and for the first time ever I boarded an airplane alone, heading to a place that I’ve never been to, to  meet people that I didn’t know. Very long story short, the interview went well and I was offered the job. I asked for some extra time to think it over before giving them a definite response – I really just needed time for some serious reflection. All I wanted was a sign. Something to tell me that this was what my next step should be. Then I realized:  this had been my ONLY successful interview experience! I had to stop and laugh at myself. Here I was, asking which job I should take when it was my only reliable option to choose from. That WAS the sign, LOL! Earth to Rayna, you can’t accept jobs that you haven’t been offered! Sometimes, life will give you options; that’s when you need patience and discernment. Other times, you’ll get a clear answer. And that is when you simply say, “yes”.

I’ve lived in Louisiana my whole life but now I’m in a new city, in a new state, in a new role and I don’t yet know why I was called to venture here. The operative word there is, “yet”. I have no idea what to expect but I’m planning for success.  I want to know more. I want to know different. I want to know better. And that is why I am ready to receive this new experience.

Only a bold leap of faith will take get from the person you are, to being the person that you want to be. So, let the journey begin!

photo-1 copy

Leave a Reply

