Shock Therapy: Fear Is NOT Real

fear

If you follow me on any other social networking site or saw last week’s post, you know that I’ve been on a professional high, a sucsassful rollercoaster. My first research article was published in a major career services journal and since then I’ve been invited to share my work with a much larger audience (more details on that later).

With every email came a phone call, and with every conversation came an invitation. And even though every opportunity I’ve been presented with is great and beyond anything that I could’ve imaged, I wasn’t expecting any of it – it’s not what I asked for. I worked hard on writing the article but I thought it would just be another thing to add to my resume. I knew others would read it but I didn’t think anyone would be so impressed that they would ask to work with me. Me? Uh, sure. Ok.

Then I realized that the doubt was caused by fear. I was excited, but also afraid. And fear was causing me to say things to myself that I normally would not say. Things like, “I can’t handle this.” and “I’m not ready.” Fortunately, fear is not real so it can be ignored. Danger is real, but fear is a choice. And I’m in no physical harm. Fear doesn’t exist because it is only you creating scenarios of things that you have no proof will actually happen. So, I want to share two things with you: one of my favorite quotes and a video explanation of why fear isn’t real.

Quote:

“Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not our darkness that most frightens us. We ask ourselves, Who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won’t feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, as children do. We were born to make manifest the glory of God that is within us. It’s not just in some of us; it’s in everyone. And as we let our own light shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others.”

Video:

“Your fear is always about what is going to happen next. That means your fear is always about that which does not exist… Your fear is 100% imaginary”

The truth is that I did ask for it. The tricky part is that divine blessings are always better than anything our earthly minds can fathom. So I asked for all of this when I simply prayed that the article would be published. Isn’t it good to know that we can be given things that are even better than what we asked for? And it wasn’t just me. My family, friends, and boyfriend prayed for it, too! And that is why it is mine; that is how I know it’ll all be fine. Now it’s time to shut up, shift gears, and enjoy the ride!

5 thoughts on “Shock Therapy: Fear Is NOT Real

  1. Congratulations on your accomplishments. Learning to walk in God’s favor is not always easy. It is exciting but at first it is new territory. We pray, we ask, but do not always expect. Enjoy the favor of God and know that you are blessed.

  2. That quote is a favorite of mine as well, it truly speaks to my most inner being. The person that commented on God’s favor was so right. You often question yourself, “Who am I to be so abundantly blessed?”, but when his favor and anointing is on your life you have to learn to embrace it, thank God for it and give him the glory, honor and praise through it all! I am so very proud of you.

  3. […] Change is uncomfortable and newness is a hassle. But if you incorporate the changes you need to make into your everyday routine, they feel less imposing. If something is not a habit, it will be easy to just abandon it. Also, creating a routine will decrease stress because you’re not waiting around to tackle something. I find that if I give myself too much time to lay around in the morning I start to think about all of the things I have to accomplish that day, then I get stressed and dread even getting out of bed to get started. A routine, especially a morning routine, puts you on autopilot so that you’re up and moving before you get a chance to think negatively about your day. Anticipating something for too long causes anxiety, and then you procrastinate out of fear.  […]

Leave a Reply

