A Changed Woman

As part of the on-boarding process for my new career counseling job, I have to re-take all of the career & personality assessments so that other counselors can interpret my results. This way, even though I’ve administered these tests to a ton of college students myself, I can get a glimpse of other counseling styles. Since I’d taken these tests before (and my scores have always been the same) I didn’t pay attention to the results when I went to print them out. Before my coworker and I got started on the interpretation she said, “Oh, you’re an ESTJ” and to that I replied, “No, I’m ISFJ.” But lo and behold, I looked at the paper only to find that *dramatic gasp*  my personality type has changed!

If you’re not familiar with the Myers-Briggs Type Indicator (MBTI), it’s an assessment that looks at how people perceive the world and make decisions. Here’s a quick rundown of the 4 functions of the MBTI:

mbti1

mbti2

There are a total of 16 different personality types so everyone has a 4-letter personality type that is made up of one letter from each function. And based on my assessment results, I went from being more reflective to being more expressive (I –> E) as well as wanting to make decisions based on facts & logic, and less on emotion (F –> T).

I also had to re-take the Strong Interest Inventory, which showed that I went from being interested in research and organizing data to being more creative and interested in leadership/entrepreneurship.

I can definitely tell that since moving to a big city full of potential, my focus is shifting toward wanting to meet new people and have more control over my professional life. My interests might go back to “normal” after I’ve settled down a little more. But if they don’t, I’ll be finding ways to feed my newfound creative and business-minded personality!

Leave a Reply

